Keep your skills up to date (and eat more cake)

7 Mar

I’m still in transition from the offline world of work to the online one, so I have a lot to learn, to put it mildly. Mastering the intricacies of WordPress, getting used to Google Docs, finding online photo-editing tools that work, and creating a Facebook page (not going there yet), are eating up my days. 

The way I was working added to the problem. I would have to do something I didn’t know how to do. I went to find a tutorial. I lost an hour tutoring myself. I forgot where I was in the original task.

So the way I update my skills has had to change.

It was lucky I ran across this post by Fiona Cullinan, a print sub-editor who reinvented herself as digital editor and producer.

As a freelance, she is responsible for her own professional development and has limited budget. True for all us freelances.

This is what I learned from her –

  1. Stop buying expensive tutorials-in-a-book
  2. Find free online resources instead
  3. Use Workflowy to organise and prioritise training needs  — watch the video 
  4. Go to Friday School (which means going off to a quiet café with wi-fi on Fridays to study).
  5. Reward yourself for a module completed with a gooey cake.

No 1 – done. I’m working on No 2, and I’ve started using Workflowy. But no cake yet.

Photo: bittle on flickr

One Response to “Keep your skills up to date (and eat more cake)”

  1. rows01 March 11, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Any excuse to eat more cake is welcome, although with summer about to expose those extra kilos, maybe a little self control is called for in my case. I enjoy reading your blog and comments on FB and have learnt a lot from them. This one is no exception. Thank you for leading the way!

What do you think?

